Guest author: Robbie Cheadle – Anne Brontë

This is the last post in my series about the Brontë family which Sue Vincent has kindly shared on her fabulous blog, Sue Vincent’s Daily Echo. Anne is the least well known of the three sisters and died the youngest, but her books are also enduring and ahead of their time. Thank you, Sue, for hosting me.

The Brontë family

Charlotte Brontë's amethyst hair bracelet, Photo credit: Hair bracelet, Brontë Parsonage Museum, J14, © The Bronte Society

Charlotte Brontë’s amethyst hair bracelet, Photo credit: Brontë Parsonage Museum, J14, © The Bronte Society

Anne Brontë

Background

Anne Bronté was the youngest of the six Bronté siblings and she was only one year old when her mother died. Anne’s two novels, Agnes Grey, based on her experiences as a governess, and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, which is considered to be one of the first sustained feminist novels, are both classics along with the works of her two sisters, Charlotte and Emily.

Following the death of her sister, Emily, in December 1848, Anne, who was particularly close to Emily, was grief stricken. This is believed to have undermined her health to such an extent that when she caught influenza over Christmas, she just didn’t rally. In early January, a doctor diagnosed her condition as consumption or tuberculosis and gave her a poor prospect of recovery. Anne expressed frustration at her diagnosis to her friend Ellen Nussey by saying:

“I have no horror of death: if I thought it inevitable I think I could quietly resign myself to the prospect … But I wish it would please God to spare me not only for Papa’s and Charlotte’s sakes but because I long to do some good in the world before I leave it. I have many schemes in my head for future practice –humble and limited indeed – but still I should not like them all to come to nothing, and myself to have lived to so little purpose. But God’s will be done.”

It was during her last days that she wrote the poem, A dreadful darkness closes in, the first three stanzas of which are as follows:

A dreadful darkness closes in

On my bewildered mind;

O let me suffer and not sin,

Be tortured yet resigned.

Through all this world of whelming mist

Still let me look to Thee,

And give me courage to resist

The Tempter till he flee.

Weary I am — O give me strength

And leave me not to faint;

Say Thou wilt comfort me at length

And pity my complaint.

Carry on reading here: https://scvincent.com/2019/12/06/guest-author-robbie-cheadle-anne-bronte/

24 thoughts on “Guest author: Robbie Cheadle – Anne Brontë

  1. Enjoyed these posts, Robbie. I was told of a poem about the Brontes way back when in school, but all I can remember of it is that ‘Anne lies under a dolled up stone’. I tried to find it on Google but haven’t as yet been successful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The hair bracelet is very interesting. While I was visiting Port Washington, WI – I found myself in a museum home – on one of the walls was an odd piece of art. The docent allowed us a few moments to ponder the lovely delicate flowers that were illustrated – and then told us it was made of human hair! My guess is that some nights or even days were very long in the Victorian era with not much of an outlet or supplies –

    I have heard also that some folks will have their pets hair cleaned and dander free made into garments too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment