#Thursdaydoors – Auckland and Rotorua, New Zealand

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature allowing door lovers to come together to admire and share their favorite door photos from around the world. Feel free to join in on the fun by creating your own Thursday Doors post each week and then sharing your link in the comments below, anytime between Thursday morning and Saturday noon (North American eastern time). 

These are some doors from my trip to Auckland and Rotorua in New Zealand in 2016. The depict some of the amazing Maori artwork you will find in both these interesting places.

Maori house at Rotorua
A larger Maori house at Rotorua – the artwork is amazing
My boys in front of a decorative door frame at Rotorua
This is the door onto the ferry at the harbour in Auckland
Here is Michael in front of an ornate Maori house with a tiny door at the museum in Auckland

If you’d like to join in the doors fun, you can do so here: https://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com/2020/08/13/thursday-doors-august-13-2020/

57 thoughts on “#Thursdaydoors – Auckland and Rotorua, New Zealand

      1. I haven’t Robbie…honestly, it’s low on my list because in many ways it’s like the Pacific Northwest where I grew up, so it doesn’t have the same exotic appeal to me…although I read a book about ti, so there must be SOME interest!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. We went because Gregory participated in the Kid’s Lit Quiz which took place in NZ that year. I am really glad we all took the opportunity to go to this lovely country. The jet lag was horrendous though with a time difference of 10 hours.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. the worst jet lag I had was from Sydney…the upside down nature of it makes it worse…you leave in the afternoon but arrive home the same morning!

            Like

    1. Hi Carla, strangely, it was never on my bucket list. I like Europe and had never thought about going to NZ. My son was part of the South African team that participated in the final of the Kids Literature Quiz in 2016, that was how we came to go there and I’m glad we grabbed the opportunity.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow, what a great opportunity for all of you. Australia and New Zealand have been places on by bucket list for years. My husband and I both wanted to go. I don’t know it I will ever make it.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I love door photos and used to have quite a collection until my camera on which they were stored stopped functioning. Your Rotorua photos brought back some great memories from my trip in NZ last year

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment