Roberta Writes – #TankaTuesday Weekly #PoetryChallenge

Colleen Chesebro has provided a picture prompt for this week’s https://www.thoughtco.com/ekphrastic-poetry-definition-examples-4174699 challenge. Simply put, this means you write a poem inspired by the picture.

I may have used some poetic license with my double Double Ennead invented by Colleen and explained here: https://carrotranch.com/2021/10/18/saddle-up-saloon-colleens-doubleennead-challenge-no-9/

You can join in this weeks challenge here: https://wordcraftpoetry.com/2022/03/15/tankatuesday-weekly-poetry-challenge-no-265-ekphrastic-photoprompt/

Killer bees Part 1

An overcrowded hive

Results in a split

The old queen and her maids prepare for a move

Some drones are invited

To join their party

***

Scouts take off in a group

Searching high and low

For a safe and secure place to make their own

The swarm waits patiently

In a nearby tree

***

Under a wooden floor

An ideal site is found

The scouts return and perform their waggle dance

Giving clear directions

To the nesting site

Killer bees Part 2

Prepped for occupation

The bees move in fast

Much to the chagrin of the resident dogs

Who attempt to drive off

The enemy force

***

The warriors line up

Ready for action

Their gold and black attire carefully designed

To strike fear into hearts

and maintain respect

***

A unified assault

By the deadly cloud

Sends the dogs running, desperate to escape

The opposition is

Swiftly overcome

Picture credit: Wikipedia. You can read more about Africanised killer bees here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Africanized_bee

73 thoughts on “Roberta Writes – #TankaTuesday Weekly #PoetryChallenge

  1. I’m not sure the dogs would be so easily overcome. But perhaps the bees would not mind nesting on bee and dog carcasses. Although I know nothing about killer bees–maybe when they sting they do not die as other bee species do. And if men are also living in the vicinity, who knows what could happen? I think they would be inclined to defend the dogs rather than the bees, but you can never be sure with humans. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you very much as well, Robbie! Yes, here its pure normality, and i think this will last, as long as our politicans not try to play war. Actually one cant see the truth, because there was so much of the last years covered. Lets hope we will not go into a Third WorldWar. xx Michael

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Colleen. I am so happy you invented this format, it provides enough structure for a wonderful story. When my 99 poem book is finished, I am going to ask you to help me edit it (if you have time, of course).

      Like

      1. I’m sorry that I misinterpreted your poem. I saw the picture and I thought you were referring to those women as performing their waggle dance because of the bees. your poor dogs; that must have been awful to deal with…

        Like

  2. You made this into a entire story, Robbie. Killer bees are so scary, although I appreciate the other bees. We have issues with hornets here, or meat bees as we call them. Their bites can cause blood poisoning, or infection.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice take on the prompt, Robbie. Killer bees scare the heck out of me! We have Murder hornets making their way to Canada from the US. They are 3-4 inches long and their poison can also kill. Insects and me don’t get along, lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You had me looking up more information on “killer bees”, Robbie. I found that while they have greater defensiveness when in a resting swarm and have a higher proportion of “guard” bees within the hive, some beekeepers asset that they are superior honey produces and pollinators. I did not know this!!

    I love how you told a remarkable story within the lines of poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What an intense poem, Robbie. I appreciated the unique take on the challenge and how the poem told a story. Fortunately, we don’t have killer bees in the US. It must be terrifying when they swarm. Your poor dogs.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. No muder hornets, thankfully. The meat bees are pests and will pester you if you try to eat outside ot try to BBQ. My daughter stepped in their nest on a hike and they bite her several times and our dog.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I think there are hybrids of AFrican bees everywhere now. They kill the local bee populations which is a biological problem. I get blood poisoning from the bacteria in bee venom. Some people go into anaphylactic shock from a bee sting. I wrote a short story about that once.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. One of my children had a small reaction to a bee sting once. And I was helping trim bushes while visiting a relative in another state and got stung by a ‘no-see-um’ not really sure what it was, but I was told it could sting more than once and the ‘bite’ swelled on the palm of my hand to the size of a large coin. So I’m careful around bugs.

            Stay safe!

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment